Steve Ly Wins Elk Grove Mayoral Election; Detrick and Suen return to city council

Steve Ly Wins Elk Grove Mayoral Election; Detrick and Suen return to city council




Steve Ly was the winner of the election for Mayor of Elk Grove, defeating Kevin Spease who finished in second place. Ly garnered 44% of the vote to Spease’s 33%. Tracie Stafford came in 3rd with 12%. Ly’e election will open up his seat on the council to either a special election or appointment by the city council.  City councilmen Steve Detrick and Darren Suen both easily won their races. Detrick was re-elected to a 3rd term. Suen was elected to his first term after having been appointed to serve out the rest of Jim Cooper’s term 2 years ago.


In other local races, Nancy Chaires Espinoza, Carmine Forcina and Chet Madison easily won their elections to the Elk Grove School Board. In the Cosumnes Community Services District race, Gil Albiani, Jim Luttrell and Orlando Fuentes won seats on the CSD board. Incumbent Michelle Orrock came in a close 4th place, losing by just 468 votes.  For the Los Rios College Board of Trustees, Tami Nelson won her area 7 race with 43% of the vote.


In local measures, Measure M the school bond measure won easily with 68% of the vote (55% was needed) and Measure B the county sales tax increase was defeated. It received 64% of the vote, but needed 2/3 to win.


In the Presidential election, Sacramento County voters supported Hillary Clinton over Donald Trump 57% to 35%.


In other election results, Ami Bera defeated Scott Jones 50.6% to 49.4%, winning by just over 2000 votes in the 7th Congressional District.


In state wide propositions:


Privacy Policy

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Skip to toolbar